#### 12 September 2014

**Dr. Jim Yong Kim** President The World Bank Group 1818 H St NW Washington DC

# Subject: Joint civil society and ethnic community organizations' submission the proposed WB Country Partnership Framework in Myanmar

### Dear Dr. Kim,

We are sending this joint submission in response to the draft World Bank Group's Country Partnership Framework (CPF) in Myanmar. This is endorsed by Myanmar civil society and ethnic organizations based in the country and on the border areas. This submission is also reinforced by supporting organizations based in various countries. We focus on human rights, environment, peace and mediation, and good governance with significant expertise and experience in Myanmar.

We offer these comments after a series of discussions among us and exchanges with the World Bank representatives.<sup>1</sup> Our comments also take into account our observations on the performance of the World Bank Group in developing and implementing its two-year Interim Strategy Note (ISN). The Bank will recall that in September 2012, Myanmar organizations provided a joint submission that commented on the substantive issues with the proposed pillars in the ISN. Some of the concerns and recommendations there remain relevant to the Bank's Myanmar CPF. In this submission, we provide recommendations pertaining to priority issues that should be addressed as the Bank deepens its country activities in the next five years. These are organized in four areas:

- 1. Adopt a conflict-sensitive approach to development as a way to support nationwide efforts towards a comprehensive peace process
- 2. Protect peoples' land and resource rights of rights and support small-scale and ecological agriculture
- 3. Facilitate job creation through assistance to small and medium enterprises and private sector lending
- 4. Prioritize energy access for the poor

Each key recommendation area is elaborated with supporting information and is accompanied by specific recommendations.

We are calling on you, Dr. Kim, to guide the management to incorporate these recommendations into the final CPF. We are also calling on the Executive Directors to seriously consider this joint submission as you review and discuss the CPF in October 2014.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> This submission is an elaboration of the three-page summary of comments that was submitted to the World Bank Myanmar team last August 21, 2014 by the IFI Watch Myanmar on behalf of its members and partners. This summary is in Annex A.

Process wise, we will appreciate if you could acknowledge this submission, post it on <u>www.facebook.com/worldbankmyanmar</u> and <u>www.worldbank.org/myanmar</u>, and respond to the substantive recommendations. We welcome the opportunity to discuss this further with your team and other relevant stakeholders before the final CPF is submitted to the Board.

Sincerely,

**Elizabeth Khin Hnin Hlaing [Liz Hlaing]** IFI Watch Myanmar Coordinator Yangon, Myanmar

## Copied to:

### Management

- 1. Jin Yong Cai, IFC EVP and CEO, JCai@ifc.org
- 2. Axel Van Trotsenburg, WB VP East Asia Pacific
- 3. Karin Finkelston, Vice President for Asia Pacific
- 4. Ulrich Zachau, SE Asia Country Director
- 5. Kanthan Shankar, Myanmar Country Manager
- 6. Nicholas Myint, Myanmar Country Director
- 7. Vikram Kumar, IFC Representative, Myanmar
- 8. Meg Taylor, VP, CAO
- 9. Other IFC leads for East Asia

**Executive Directors** 

- Sundaran Annamalai, Executive Director, Brunei Darussalam, Fiji, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, Nepal, Singapore, Thailand, Tonga, Vietnam and Daw Than Than Swe, Advisor Myanmar
- 2. Bin Han, Alternate ED, China
- 3. Sara Margalit Aviel, Alternate ED, US
- 4. Hideaki Suzuki, Executive Director, Japan
- 5. Gwen Hines, Executive Director, United Kingdom, Clare Roberts, Alternate ED
- 6. Herve de Villeroche, Executive Director, France
- 7. Wilhelm M. Rissmann, Alternate ED, Germany
- 8. Shixin Chen, Executive Director, China
- 9. Omar Bougara Executive Director, Afghanistan, Algeria, Ghana, Iran, Morocco, Pakistan, Tunisia
- Janet Harris, Alternate ED, Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Canada, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Ireland, Jamaica, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent
- 11. Cesar Guido Forcieri, Executive Director, Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay,

- 12. Michael Willcock, Executive Director, Australia, Cambodia, Kiribati, Republic of Korea, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Mongolia, New Zealand, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu,
- 13. Gino Alzetta, Executive Director, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Czech Republic, Hungary, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Luxembourg, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Turkey
- 14. Merza H. Hasan, Executive Director, Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Maldives, Oman, Qatar, Syria, United Arab Emirates, Yemen
- 15. Mukesh N. Prasad, Executive Director, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Sri Lanka
- 16. Mohammad Tareque, Alternate ED, Bangladesh
- 17. Agapito Mendes Dias, Executive Director, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Republic of Congo, Cote d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritius, Niger, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Togo
- 18. Denny Kalyalya, Executive Director, Botswana, Burundi, Ethiopia, The Gambia, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe
- 19. Roberto Tan, Executive Director, Brazil, Colombia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Haiti, Panama, Philippines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago
- 20. Rogerio Studart, Alternate ED, Brazil
- 21. Juan Jose Bravo Moises, Executive Director, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Spain, Venezuela
- 22. Frank Heemskerk, Executive Director, Armenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Georgia, Israel, FYRO Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Netherlands, Romania, Ukraine
- 23. Satu-Leena Santala, Executive Director, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Sweden
- 24. Piero Cipollone Executive Director, Albania, Greece, Italy, Malta, Portugal, San Marino, Timor-Leste
- 25. Nuno Mota Pinto, Alternate ED, Portugal
- 26. Ibrahim Alturki Alternate ED, Saudi Arabia
- 27. Vadim Grishin, Executive Director, Russia
- 28. Eugene Miagkov, Alternate ED, Russia
- 29. Jorg Frieden, Executive Director, Azerbaijan, Kyrgyz Republic, Poland, Serbia, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan
- 30. Wieslaw Szczuka, Alternate ED, Poland
- 31. Mansur Muhtar, Executive Director, Angola, Nigeria, South Africa